National Workshop on Enhancing Understanding of Plant Genetic Resources Organized

17th November, 2014, Chitrakoot

A National Workshop on Enhancing Understanding and Implementation of the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture in India was organised at Deendayal Research Institute (DRI), Chitrakoot during 17-18 November 2014. A National Exhibition on Farmers’ Varieties was also organised during the event.    

National Workshop on Enhancing Understanding of Plant Genetic Resources OrganizedNational Workshop on Enhancing Understanding of Plant Genetic Resources Organized

The Workshop and Exhibition was inaugurated by Shri Ganesh Singh, Secretary of Lok Sabha and Member of Parliament, Satna, Madhya Pradesh. He stressed the need to promote the farmers’ material so that cost of cultivation can be reduced. He appreciated the work done by KVKs in this regard.

Dr. R.R. Hanchinal, Chairperson, PPVFRA presented the work done by PPVFRA for registering farmers’ varieties and also hoped that more work will be done in this area.

Dr. P.N. Mathur, Head, Bioversity International, South Asia; Shri A.K. Srivastava, Addl Secretary, DAC; Shri Rajesh Singh, Joint Secretary, DAC; Dr. S.K. Patil, Vice Chancellor, Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Raipur; Prof N.C. Gautam, Vice Chancellor, Mahatma Gandhi Chitrakoot Gramoday Vishwavidyalaya, Chitrakoot; Dr. Subhash Dasgupta, FAO Regional Office for Asia and Pacific, Bangkok; Dr. Anupam Mishra, ZPD, Zone VII, Jabalpur; and Shri Abhay Mahajan, Organisational Secretary, DRI, Chitrakoot were the key speakers on the occasion.

The workshop was organized with active collaboration of Protection of Plant Variety and Farmers Right Authority, New Delhi; Department of Agril and Cooperation, GOI; Bioversity International; ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources; FAO of UN; Deendayal Research Institute (DRI), Chitrakoot and ICAR-Zonal Project Directorate, Zone VII, Jabalpur.

Participants included more than 100 farmers from Jammu and Kashmir, Meghalaya, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Odisha.

(Source: ZPD, Zone-VII, Jabalpur)