North Eastern Agro-climatic Zone Workshop held

North Eastern Agro-climatic Zone Workshop held A one day workshop on “Developing Roadmap for Agricultural Development in Eastern Himalayan Region” was organized by ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Meghalaya and ATARI, Zone III at Umiam, Meghalaya on 29th September, 2015.

Dr. N. S. Rathore, DDG (Education), ICAR, Chairman of the event stressed upon all relevant issues of the farmers of NEH region to bring sustainable improvements in production and productivity of the region through suitable technological interventions based on inter-disciplinary approach. He gave specific emphasis on production of high-value crops / aromatic and medicinal plants; reduction of post harvest losses, cost of production and drudgery; exploitation of easily available traditional and underutilized fruits, skill based training programmes, smart management of natural and indigenous resources, articulation of renewable energy sources and Public-Private Partnership (PPP) approach etc. that may lead to nutritional security of Eastern Himalayan Region.

Dr. S.V. Ngachan, Director, ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Umiam in his welcome address highlighted the importance of secondary agriculture in Eastern Himalayan region and expressed confidence of making NEH region not only self sufficient in food grain production but also enabling it to supply food grains to other neighboring countries through systematic prioritization of strategies as a road map for agricultural development in the region.

The workshop was co-chaired by Dr. P. S. Pandey, ADG (Edn. Planning & HS) and Dr. Jitendra Chauhan, Scientific Advisor to Minister of Agril. & Farmers’ Welfare, Govt. of India.

Besides renowned experts from different areas of specialization participated in the discussion and highlighted critical points related to policy planning in different sectors to enhance the specific technological support, extension and demonstration services to the NEH farmers.

(Source: ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Meghalaya)