Second workshop of Officers-In-charge for Research Data Management in ICAR Inaugurated

24th January 2017, New Delhi

Dr. Trilochan Mohapatra, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR   inaugurated the second workshop of Officer Incharge for Research Data Management in ICAR institutes today. This workshop is organized to discuss the progress of implementation of ICAR Research Data Management Guidelines. As a part of implementation of these, KRISHI ( portal is being developed. This portal consists of six data repositories viz. Technology, Publication, Experimental Data, Observational Data, Survey Data and Geo-Portal. In the inaugural address, Dr. Mohapatra appreciated the progress made so far and congratulated the KRISHI team for their good work. He emphasized the importance of the quality of data being generated in the system and desired that it should be of high standards and wherever required, quality data acquisition guidelines may be prepared especially for the younger generation.  He also stressed on the need of infrastructure and capacity building at Institute level for proper data management. He emphasized on the requirement of disaster recovery arrangements so as to minimize risk of loss of data.

Inauguration of Second workshop of Officer In-charge for Research Data Management in ICARInauguration of Second workshop of Officer In-charge for Research Data Management in ICAR

Dr. K. Alagusundram, DDG (Engineering and NRM), ICAR and Chairman of the steering committee appreciated the efforts being made by the project team. He urged to all Officer Incharge to take the responsibility for timely uploading the data/information on the portal.

Dr. Alok K. Sikka, Former DDG (NRM), ICAR emphasized the importance of sharing and said that we grow by sharing  the data/knowledge.

At this occasion, Dr. S.K. Chaudhari, ADG (SW&M) and Dr. K.K. Singh, ADG(Farm Engineering) also addressed the participants. Dr. A.K. Choubey delivered the welcome address. Dr. Rajender Parsad, Principal Investigator, made a presentation on genesis, present status and proposed way forward for implementation.

Dr. B.S. Prakash, ADG(ANP); Dr. T. Janakiram, ADG(Horticulture); Dr. G. Venkateswarlu, ADG(EQA&R); Dr. Sudhir Raizada, ADG(Inland Fisheries); Dr. S.K. Singh, Director, NBSS&LUP;  Dr. Rameshwar Singh, Director, DKMA and Dr. D.B. Ahuja, Director, NCIPM were also present on the occasion.

Dr Seema Jaggi, Principal Scientist proposed vote of thanks.

 (Source: ICAR-IASRI, New Delhi)