12th Agricultural Science Congress Opens at Karnal

3rd February, 2015, Karnal

12th Agricultural Science Congress-2015Prof. Kaptan Singh Solanki, Hon’ble Governor of Haryana and Punjab inaugurated 12th Agricultural Science Congress-2015 at ICAR-National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal. He complimented the organizers for such an important conference on a very relevant theme to Indian Agriculture and said agricultural fraternity has gathered here for the national cause as farmers are the pillars of agriculture and food security. He urged the conference should deliberate on the problems of small farmers and they should be educated with new technologies for optimum utilization of resources. He stressed that today we need a second green revolution to increase production, while minimizing environmental impact. He also emphasized to make agriculture more rewarding for small farmers.

On this occasion, Hon’ble Governor presented the coveted NAAS Awards and felicitated scientists for their outstanding contributions. He also released publications, a documentary film on NAAS and an agricultural product for consumers.

12th Agricultural Science Congress-2015Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR & President, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences elaborated the theme of the 12th ASC, ‘Sustainable Livelihood Security for Small Holder Farmers’. He emphasized that in India more than 90% of the farmers cultivate on less than 2 hectare land holdings and contribute nearly 70% food to national basket. Thus, for more sustainable growth, the problems of small farmers need to be addressed and we must work on smart farming for small farmers. He also emphasized that farming should be made knowledge and science based and we should work towards profit, prestige and partnership in agriculture.

12th Agricultural Science Congress-2015Prof. A.K. Srivastava, Director, ICAR-NDRI and Convener 12th ASC delivered the welcome address and informed that a galaxy of speakers from India and abroad will deliver lectures in 12 different sessions. He also said that researchers, policy makers, farmers, entrepreneurs and students will be brainstorming for remunerative and sustainable growth of the Agriculture in India. He said that 500 farmers are participating in the Congress and a special session would be organized on the issues related to farmers.  

Dr. R.S. Paroda, Former Secretary, DARE and DG, ICAR; Prof. R.B. Singh, Former President, NAAS; Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram, World Food Prize winner and Former Director, CIMMYT Global Wheat Programme; Dr. J. Voegele, Sr. Director, World Bank, Washington, USA; Dr. David Bergvinson, DG, ICRISAT, Hyderabad; Dr. Jimmy Smith, Director General, International Livestock Research Institute, Nairobi, Kenya; and Mr. Kevin Gallaghar, FAO representative in India also shared their views.

12th Agricultural Science Congress-201512th Agricultural Science Congress-2015

The 12th ASC-2015 (3-6 February) is being jointly organized by NAAS, New Delhi; Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi; and ICAR-NDRI. More than 1200 participants from India and abroad are participating in the event.

Dr. M.P. Yadav, Secretary NAAS presented the vote of thanks.

(Source: ICAR-Directorate of Knowledge Management in Agriculture)