National Workshop on Soil Fertility Evaluation Organized

9th October 2013, Thiruvanthapuram

Shri K.M. Chandrasekar, Vice-Chairman, Kerala State Planning Board inaugurated National workshop on ‘Soil fertility evaluation – towards state frame work for 12th and 13th Plan’ on 8th October, 2013 at Thiruvanthapuram. Dr. J.S. Samra, CEO, National Rainfed Area Authority (NRAA) and Dr.A. K. Sikka, DDG (NRM), ICAR were also present on the occasion.

While delivering key note address, Dr. J. S. Samra discussed the natural resources of Kerala and results of soil fertility project systematically and pointed out that soil acidity is the major problem. He also stressed upon the role of soil fertility on aquaculture and tissue analysis of plantation crops in making fertilizer recommendations.

Dr. A.K. Sikka, while deliberating the results of soil fertility based plant nutrient plan of agro-ecological units of Kerala emphasized upon the need of lime application to 91% of acidity stressed areas. He also suggested for development of site specific lime requirement with revalidation, which will go long way in solving P-fixation, reducing the toxicity of iron and aluminum and helps in improving the efficiency of native soil microbes and applied bio-fertilizers.

On 9th October, 2013, the Chief Guest, Sri.Oommen Chandy, Chief Minister of Kerala, released a book entitled ‘Soil fertility assessment and information management for enhancing crop productivity in Kerala’. In his address, he said that fundamental and long lasting progress can be achieved only from agricultural sector. The land of coconut and rice is performing poor in the productivity terms with sole exception of rubber. He hoped that finding of the project, deliberations of the workshop and outreach activities envisaged can lead to productivity enhancement of crops. 

Shri C.P. Johan, Member, Kerala State Planning Board; Dr. Anuradha Balaram, Chief Economic Advisor and Member Secretary, Kerala State Planning Board; Shri. K.R. Jyoti Lal, Secretary, Department of Agriculture; Shri. R. Ajit Kumar, Director of Agriculture and Dr. P. Rajashekaran, Chief (Agriculture), Kerala State Planning Board also graced the occasion.

(Source: NRM Division, ICAR)