Shri Sharad Pawar Unveiled the Statue of Dr. Borlaug at New Delhi

Statue of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug at NASC Complex (ICAR)19th August 2013, New Delhi

Shri Sharad Pawar, Union Minister of Agriculture and Food Processing Industries, Government of India unveiled the statue of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug at NASC Complex (ICAR), here today.

While delivering his message, Shri Pawar highlighted the contributions of Dr. Borlaug in Indian agriculture and said that Dr. Borlaug always considered himself to be a teacher, as well as a scientist. Today, several thousand men and women agricultural scientists from more than 50 countries are proud to say they were Norman Borlaug's student. We can think of no greater tribute to Dr. Borlaug than to carry on the work to which he dedicated his life, applying agricultural science for humanitarian benefits. Shri Pawar also thanked CIMMYT for getting the statue of Dr. Borlaug installed in the campus of ICAR, New Delhi. A replica of Dr. Borlaug’s statue was presented to Shri Pawar on the occasion.

Ms. Jeanie Laube-Borlaug, Chairperson of Borlaug Global Rust Initiative (BGRI) and daughter of Dr. Norman Borlaug expressed her happiness on participating in this event and remembered the association of Dr. Borlaug with India and Indian farmers. She also said that her father’s heart and soul inhabit in Indian agriculture.

Dr. R.S. Paroda, Chairman, TAAS; Dr. R.B Singh, President, National Academy of Agriculture Sciences and Dr. Sanjay Rajaram, a close associate of Dr. Borlaug also gave their valuable remarks on the occasion.

Earlier, Dr. Thomas A. Lumpkin, Director General, CIMMYT (USA) welcomed the dignitaries and highlighted the journey of Dr. Borlaug.

Foreign delegates and senior officials and scientists from CGIAR institutions, ICAR and other national and international organization of repute were also present on the occasion.

Statue of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug at NASC Complex (ICARUnveiling the Statue of Dr. Borlaug at New Delhi

Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR proposed vote of thanks.

(Source: NAIP Mass Media Project, DKMA, ICAR)