DG Inaugurated Administrative Building of KVK, Bageshwar

1st June, 2013, Bageshwar

DG Inaugurated Administrative Building of KVK, Bageshwar Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR, inaugurated the administrative building of KVK, Bageshwar district in Uttarakhand on June 01, 2013. Dr. Ayyappan visited demonstration units, mushroom unit, polyhouse, post harvest technological equipments, dairy unit and released fishes in the pond for fish culture at the KVK. He also planted multipurpose tree saplings.

Dr. Ayyappan addressed and interacted with farmers and urged for adopting recent technologies for integrated agriculture, such as protected cultivation, mushroom cultivation, off-season vegetable cultivation, animal husbandry for sustainability and economic profitability of hill farmers. DG released a pocket diary “Krishi Darpan-Bageshwar” and leaflets covering different aspects of hill agriculture.

Dr. K.D. Kokate, Deputy Director General (Agricultural Extension), ICAR appreciated the efforts of VPKAS and its KVK in technology application and transfer. He focused that there is need to adopt high-tech agriculture technologies by the farmers and said that farmers will soon be benefited by sending the text and voice messages through mobile service in future. IVRI, CARI, CIRG, VPKAS, GBPUAT, CITH and other institutes should be linked for transferring their appropriate technologies in collaboration with KVK for benefiting the farmers, he said.

Dr. J.C. Bhatt, Director, VPKAS, Almora welcomed the dignitaries and elaborated the achievements and progress of KVK and its commitment to the farmers of Bageshwar district. Dr. Y.P. Dabas, Director, Extension Education, GBPUA&T, Pantnagar told that KVK under GBPUA&T in Pithoragarh district is working on problems of high-hill farmers and also will take care of farmers from Munsiarai area. Officials from ICAR institutes, ZPDs, KVKs, state officials from line departments and a large number of farmers participated in the meet

(Source: Zonal Project Directorate, Zone-IV, Kanpur)