51st Convocation of Indian Agricultural Research Institute

15 February 2013, New Delhi

The Chief Guest presenting degree certificate to a Ph.D. studentThe 51st Convocation of Indian Agricultural Research Institute, popularly known as Pusa Institute, was held at the Institute campus, here today. Hon'ble Lt. Governor, NCT of Delhi ShriTejendra Khanna was the Chief Guest on this occasion.

Hon'ble Lt. Governor, NCT of Delhi Shri Tejendra Khanna, in his address, highlighted constant concerted efforts of agricultural scientists in bringing food self-sufficiency and even exports from a sub-optimal agriculture performance. He emphasised, scientists should work in the field for development of small and marginal farmers.

TThe Chief Guest releasing IARI publication and seed varieties of different cropshe Chief Guest praised the research done in micro irrigation and optimisation of water use. Scientists should take up personal commitment to elevate people from below poverty line, he further added, there is a need to developtechnology modules based on available soil, water and socio-economic situation of poor farmers.

Shri Khanna asked the graduates of this institute to be the torch bearer of the change in social values and social system. As citizens we are privileged to be born in India due to three qualities, he said.

On this occasion the Chief Guest released new varieties of wheat (HD 3059), chickpea (Pusa 2085 and Pusa Green 112), soybean (DS 12-13 and DS 2614), mango hybrids(Pusa Pratibha, Pusa Shreshth, Pusa Peetamber and Pusa Lalima), onion (Selection 126, Pusa Riddhi and Pusa Soumya), radish (PusaGulabi and Pusa Jamuni), carrot (PusaVasuda), cucumber (Pusa Barkha), broad bean (Pusa Udit) and among the flowers, gladiolus (PusaSrujana) and chrysanthemum (Pusa Kesari, Pusa Aditya and Pusa Sona).

Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research presided over the convocation function. He also released two institutional publications. Dr. H. S. Gupta, Director of the institute presented the significant achievements in research and extension.

This year a total of 205 students were awarded degrees including 100 M.Sc., 97 Ph.D. and 8 M. Tech.

ODr. Shailja Hittalmani, Professor, GKVK, Bangalore receiving the Rao Bahadur Dr. B. Viswanath Award  n this occasion the Chief Guest also handed over five prestigious awards namely, Shri Hari Krishna Shastri Memorial award to Professor K. N. Tiwari, Rao Bahadur Dr. B. Viswanath Memorial award to Dr. Shailja Hittalmani, Dr. B. P. Pal Memorial award to Dr. D. K. Yadav and Hooker award to Dr. A. K. Patra for their outstanding contribution to agricultural research. Four Best Teacher awardswere presented to Drs. S. K. Jha, S. P. Datta, Anil Dahuja and Sharad Mohanfor their significant contribution in post-graduate teaching and research guidance. Dr. Sudipta Paul and Mr. Bappa Das were awarded Best Student of the Year for Ph.D. and M.Sc. Five students each in M.Sc. and Ph.D. were given IARI Merit medal.

Joint Director (Education) and Dean, Dr. H. S. Gaur presented the achievements of human resource development activities of the institute and consultancy in institutional building in other countries. He also informed that the institute houses the finest and largest agro-biological library in Southeast Asia. He mentioned introduction of Ph.D. programme in Computer Application in Agriculture.

(Source: anil [dot] cproatgmail [dot] com)