ASEAN-INDIA Farmer Exchange Programme concludes

29th December 2012, New Delhi

Exchange visit of farmers from ASEAN member states to India ends with a formal closing ceremony at NASC Complex, New Delhi here today. A farmer’s delegation from ASEAN countries came to India under the ASEAN-INDIA Farmer Exchange Programme.

On this occasion, Dr. K.D. Kokate, DDG (Agriculture Extension), ICAR said that sharing of Experiences between ASEAN countries and India would be greatly useful for strengthening National Agricultural Research and Extension System in the respective countries.

Dr. A.M. Narula, ZPD, Zone-I, Ludhiana and coordinator of the visit briefed the gathering about the 10 days visit.

ASEAN-India Farmers Exchange ProgrammeASEAN-India Farmers Exchange Programme
ASEAN-India Farmers Exchange ProgrammeASEAN-India Farmers Exchange Programme
ASEAN-India Farmers Exchange Programme

Dr. A.K. Tripathi, Director, DAC, Dr. P. Adhiguru, Principal Scientist (Agricultural Extension), ICAR, Mr. A.C. Ghosh, Director (Administration), ICAR gave their valuable remark about the programme and farmers from ASEAN states also shared their experiences.

Earlier, Dr. V. Venkatasubramaniam, ADG (Agriculture Extension), ICAR welcomed and introduced the dignitaries.

First event under ASEAN-India Farmers Exchange Programme is being conducted in India. In this visit of farmes’ delegation from nine ASEAN member states namely Cambodia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Myanmar, Malaysia, Vietnam, Philippines, Lao PDR and Thailand participated. The Indian leg of the first visit by the ASEAN farmers’ delegation was scheduled from December 19-30, 2012.

During the 10 days Farmer Exchange Programme, delegation including 18 farmers from the ASEAN countries visited Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, National Dairy Research Institute, Karnal and Central Soil and Water Consevation and Training Institute, Dehra Dun. Besides, the delegation also visited the Pujab Agricultural University, Guru Angad Dev University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Ludhiana, KVKs, ICAR Institutes and farmer’s field.

Dr. A.K. Singh ZPD, Zone-IV, Kanpur proposed the vote of thanks.

(Source: NAIP Mass Media Project, DKMA, ICAR)