Shri Sharad Pawar to Honor ICAR and PPV & FRA Awardees

New Delhi, 14 July, 2011

Shri Sharad Pawar, Union Minister of Agriculture and Food Processing Industries will present Indian Council of Agricultural Research awards in different categories on ICAR’s 83rd Foundation Day on 16 July, 2011.

ICAR’s first Norman Borlaug Award will be presented to a renowned agricultural scientist for the work on methane production in tropical paddy having a bearing on climate change strategies. The award has been named after eminent agricultural scientist and Nobel Laureate Dr Norman E. Borlaug who was instrumental in ushering green revolution in the country.

ICAR has a long tradition to recognize excellence by giving awards to exceptional contributions made in agricultural research, education and extension. The various award categories include, besides researchers, progressive farmers, farm journalists, teachers, authors etc. This year, there will be 85 awardees under 17 different categories. These comprise 13 institutions, 59 scientists, 10 farmers and 3 Journalists. Out of 59 scientists and 10 farmers, there are 9 women scientists and one woman farmer.

The first ever Plant Genome Savior Community Awards (2009-10) will also be given on the occasion. Instituted by the Protection of Plant Varieties & Farmers’ Rights Authority, it is the first attempt to appreciate the outstanding contribution of individual farmers and farming communities in conserving agro-biodiversity.

The ceremony will be held in presence of Shri Harish Rawat, Union Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Processing Industries and Parliamentary Affairs and Dr Charan Das Mahant, Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries.

(Source: NAIP Sub-Project on Mass Media Mobilization, DKMA)