Bharat Ratna Professor C.N.R. Rao Felicitated by Science Academies

14th January 2014, New Delhi

World Renowned Chemist Bharat Ratna Professor  C.N.R. Rao  was felicitated by six Science Academies – NASI, IASc, INSA, INAE, NAMS, NAAS and nine  science departments of Government of India – DAE, DARE, DBT, DHR, DoS, DRDO, DSIR, DST, MoES at India International Centre, New Delhi here today. Presidents of Science Academies and other eminent scientists congratulated Professor Rao on being honoured by the Government of India with Bharat Ratna 2013.

Shri S. Jaipal Reddy, Minister of Science and Technology, Government of India graced the function.

The ICAR and NAAS take pride in rejoicing this honour conferred on Professor Rao and seek his guidance to achieve welfare of the countrymen through science-led agriculture. Dr. S. Ayyappan, Secretary, DARE and Director General, ICAR spoke in honour of Professor C.N.R. Rao on behalf of agricultural fraternity representing National Agricultural Research and Education System led by ICAR, the apex body coordinating research, education and frontline extension in the country.

Prof. R.B. Singh, Former President of National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS) presented his valuable remarks on the occasion.

In the function, who’s who of science were present including Presidents of National Science Academies, Secretaries to Government of India, Vice-Chancellors and other eminent scientists of national and international repute.