



INDIAN COUNCIL OF AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH KRISHI BHAWAN: NEW DELHI

F. No. GAC-21-34/2014-CDN

Dated the 11 June; 2014

ENDORSEMENT

Department of Personnel and Training, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Government of India, New Delhi has issued O. M. No. 12/5/2014-JCA-2 dated 6.6.2014 regarding Holidays to be observed in Central Government Offices located at Delhi/New Delhi during the year 2015. The above mentioned O.M. is being uploaded on the ICAR web-site www.icar.org.in for information and further necessary action.

(J.N. Bhagat) Under Secretary (GAC)

DISTRIBUTION:

- 1. All Directors/Project Directors of all ICAR Institutes/National Research Centres/Project Coordinators/Coordinated Research Projects/Zonal Project Coordinators/Bureaux
- 2. Sr.PPS to DG, ICAR/PPS to Secretary, ICAR/PPS to FA (DARE).
- 3. Chairman ASRB/ND, NAIP/ Project Director (DKMA), Pusa, New Delhi.
- A. Shri Hans Raj, ISO, (DIPA) KAB-I for putting in the ICAR Web-Site.
- 5. All officers/sections at ICAR Krishi Bhawan/KAB I & II.
- 6. Secy. (Staff Side), CJSC, NRC on Meat, Chengicherla, Hyderabad -500039
- 7. Secy. (Staff Side), HJSC, ICAR, KAB-II, Pusa, New Delhi-110012
- 8. Guard file/Spare copies

Sp. polo. ICR)

MOST IMMEDIATE

F.No.12/5/2014-JCA-2 Government of India

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions (Department of Personnel and Training)

> North Block, New Delhi Dated the 6th June, 2014

Office Memorandum

Subject: Holidays to be observed in Central Government Offices during the year 2015.

It has been decided that the holidays as specified in the <u>Annexure -I</u> to this O.M. will be observed in all the Administrative Offices of the Central Government located at Delhi/New Delhi during the year 2015. In addition, each employee will also be allowed to avail himself/herself of any two holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the list of Restricted Holidays in <u>Annexure - II</u>.

- 2. Central Government Administrative Offices located outside Delhi / New Delhi shall observe the following holidays compulsorily in addition to three holidays as per para 3.1 below:
 - 1. REPUBLIC DAY
 - 2. INDEPENDENCE DAY
 - 3. MAHATMA GANDHI'S BIRTHDAY
 - 4. BUDDHA PURNIMA
 - 5. CHRISTMAS DAY
 - 6. DUSSEHRA (VIJAY DASHMI)
 - 7. DIWALI (DEEPAVALI)
 - 8. GOOD FRIDAY
 - 9. GURU NANAK'S BIRTHDAY
 - 10. IDU'L FITR
 - 11. IDUL ZUHA
 - 12. MAHAVIR JAYANTI
 - 13. MUHARRAM
 - 14. PROPHET MOHAMMAD'S BIRTHDAY (ID-E-MILAD)
- 3.1. In addition to the above 14 Compulsory holidays mentioned in para 2, three holidays shall be decided from the list indicated below by the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee in the State Capitals, if necessary, in consultation with Coordination Committees at other places in the State. The final list applicable uniformly to all Central Government offices within the concerned State shall be notified accordingly and no change can be carried out thereafter. It is also clarified that no change is permissible in regard to festivals and dates as indicated.
 - AN ADDITIONAL DAY FOR DUSSEHRA
 - 2. HOLI
 - 3. JANAMASHTAMI (VAISHNAVI)
 - 4. RAM NAVAMI
 - 5. MAHA SHIVRATRI 6. GANESH CHATURI
 - GANESH CHATURTHI / VINAYAK CHATURTHI
 - MAKAR SANKARANTI
 - 8. RATH YATRA
 - 9. ONAM
 - 10. PONGAL
 - 11. SRI PANCHAMI / BASANT PANCHAMI
 - 12. VISHU/ VAISAKHI / VAISAKHADI / BHAG BIHU / MASHADI UGADI / CHAITRA SUKLADI / CHETI CHAND / GUDI PADAVA 1⁵¹ NAVRATRA / NAUROZ/CHHATH POOJA/KARVA CHAUTH.

-217-

8r Mi

Su.

- 3.2 No substitute holiday should be allowed if any of the festival holidays initially declared subsequently happens to fall on a weekly off or any other non-working day or in the event of more than one festival falling on the same day.
- 4. The list of Restricted Holidays appended to this O.M. is meant for Central Government Offices located in Delhi / New Delhi. The Coordination Committees at the State Capitals may draw up separate list of Restricted Holidays keeping in view the occasions of local importance but the 9 occasions left over, after choosing the 3 variable holidays in para 3.1 above, are to be included in the list of restricted holidays.
- For offices in Delhi / New Delhi, any change in the date of holidays in respect of Idu'l Fitr, Idu'l Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad, if necessary, depending upon sighting of the Moon, would be declared by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions after ascertaining the position from the Govt. of NCT of Delhi (DCP, Special Branch, Delhi Police).
- 5.2 For offices outside Delhi / New Delhi, the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committees at the State Capitals are authorised to change the date of holiday, if necessary, based on the decision of the concerned State Governments / Union Territories, in respect of Idu'l Fitr, Idu'l Zuha, Muharram and Id-e-Milad.
- 5.3 It may happen that the change of date of the above occasions has to be declared at a very short notice. In such a situation, announcement could be made through P.I.B./T.V. / A.I.R. / Newspapers and the Heads of Department / Offices of the Central Government may take action according to such an announcement without waiting for a formal order, about the change of date.
- 6. During 2015, Diwali (Deepavali) falls on Wednesday, November 11, 2015 (Kartika 20). In certain States, the practice is to celebrate the occasion a day in advance, i.e., on "Narakachaturdasi Day". In view of this, there is no objection if holiday on account of Deepavali is observed on "Naraka Chaturdasi Day (in place of Deepavali Day) for the Central Government Offices in a State if in that State that day alone is declared as a compulsory holiday for Diwali for the offices of the State Government.
- 7. Central Government Organisations which include industrial, commercial and trading establishments would observe upto 16 holidays in a year including three national holidays viz. Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Gandhi's birthday, as compulsory holidays. The remaining holidays / occasions may be determined by such establishments / organisations themselves for the year 2015, subject to para 3.2 above.
- 8. Union Territory Administrations shall decide the list of holidays in terms of instructions issued in this regard by the Ministry of Home Affairs.
- 9. In respect of Indian Missions abroad, the number of holidays may be notified in accordance with the instructions contained in this Department's O.M. No.12/5/2002-JCA dated 17th December, 2002. In other words, they will have the option to select 9(Nine) holidays of their own only after including in the list, three National Holidays and Milad-Un-Nabi or Id-E-Milad, Rama Navami, Id-ul-Fitr, Janamashtami and Muharram included in the list of compulsory holidays and falling on day of weekly off.