Indian Council of Agricultural Research

President, ICAR Society, and Union Minister of Agriculture and Food Processing Industries : Shri Sharad Pawar (Up to 26 May 2014)

President, ICAR Society, and Union Minister of Agriculture

: Shri Radha Mohan Singh (Since 28 May 2014)

Union Minister of State for Agriculture and

Food Processing Industries

: Dr Charan Das Mahant (Up to 26 May 2014)

: Shri Tariq Anwar (Up to 26 May 2014)

Union Minister of State for Agriculture

: Dr Sanjeev Kumar Balyan (Since 28 May 2014): Shri Mohan Bhai Kundariya (Since 11 November

2014)

Secretary (DARE) and Director General (ICAR) : Dr S. Ayyappan

Additional Secretary (DARE) and

Secretary (ICAR)

: Shri Arvind R. Kaushal (Up to 31 October 2014) : Shri R. Rajagopal (Since 9 November 2014)

Additional Secretary (DARE) and

Financial Adviser (ICAR)

: Shri P.K. Pujari



The Mandate of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research

- To plan, undertake, aid, promote and coordinate education, research and its application in agriculture, agroforestry, animal husbandry, fisheries, home science and allied sciences.
- (ii) To act as a clearing house of research and general information relating to agriculture, animal husbandry, home science and allied sciences, and fisheries through its publications and information system; and instituting and promoting transfer of technology programmes.
- (iii) To provide, undertake and promote consultancy services in the fields of education, research, training and dissemination of information in agriculture, agroforestry, animal husbandry, fisheries, home science and allied sciences.
- (iv) To look into the problems relating to broader areas of rural development concerning agriculture, including post-harvest technology by developing co-operative programmes with other organizations such as the Indian Council of Social Science Research, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and the universities.
- (v) To do other things considered necessary to attain the objectives of the Society.