Brainstorming Workshop on Climate Resilient Village Framework

29th November, 2014, Hyderabad

ICAR-Central Research Institute of Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad organized a brainstorming workshop on climate resilient villages (CRVs) on 29 November, 2014. 

Inaugurating the workshop, Dr.Alok Sikka, DDG (NRM) recalled the formulation of eight National Missions under the National Action Plan on Climate Change by the Government and said the workshop is timely so as to enable appropriate framework for up-scaling under the National Missions especially the National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA).  Also Dr. Sikka reiterated that this workshop to evolve a broad framework will be followed up with a focused interaction meeting for understanding and measuring resilience to climate variability involving ICAR, CCAFS & IFPRI.

Best NICRA KVK awards for the period 2011-14 were presented to NICRA implementing KVKs of Faridkot (Zone I), Gumla (Zone-II), West Garo Hills (Zone-III),  Gonda (Zone-IV), Amravati (Zone-V), Valsad (Zone-VI), Datia (Zone-VII) and Namakkal (Zone-VIII).  Two publications on custom hiring equipment by CRIDA and Zonal monitoring committee report (Zone VI) were released.

The workshop brought together different stakeholders working towards climate resilient agriculture for cross-fertilization of ideas, innovations, processes and delivery mechanisms and to evolve a broad framework for climate resilient villages.

Earlier, Dr. Ch.Srinivasa Rao, Director, CRIDA in his welcome address reiterated that Technology Demonstration Component is the  life line of  NICRA project and will feed climate resilient practices and technologies into NMSA for up-scaling.  Dr. M.Maheswari, Principal Investigator, NICRA and Dr.Y.G.Prasad, Coordinator, Technology Demonstration Component outlined the workshop objectives.

Nodal Officers of NICRA at ZPDs, Program Coordinators of KVKs, Principal Investigators of NICRA TDC at ICAR Core Research Institutes and scientists of CRIDA participated in the event.

(Source: ICAR-CRIDA, Hyderabad)