XXIX Annual Group Meeting of NSP (Crops) Inaugurated

24th April 2014, Srinagar

XXIX Annual Group Meeting of AICRP-NSP (Crops) was inaugurated on 24th April, 2014 at Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology (SKUAS&T), Srinagar.

Dr. Swapan K. Dutta, Deputy Director General (Crop Sciences), ICAR was the Chief Guest on the occasion. In his address, Dr. Datta emphasized upon the importance of photo-insensitive and early maturing varieties to mitigate the challenges put forth by climate change.

In his presidential address, Dr. Tej Pratap, Vice Chancellor, SKUAS&T, Srinagar lauded the efforts of seed scientists of the country. He remarked that there is need to address the future scenarios of climate change, growing affluence, increasing population and enhanced urbanization.

Dr. J.S. Chauhan, Assistant Director General (Seeds), ICAR was the Special Guest on the occsasion. He emphasized on achieving seed security to ensure food and nutritional security of the country. Dr. Chauhan also discussed the growing seed industry in India vis a vis global trends.

Dr. S. Rajendra Prasad, Project Director, Directorate of Seed Research, ICAR presented the highlights of achievements made under NSP (Crops). He elaborated the varietal scenario among major agricultural crops in the country and presented the research achievements made under Seed Technology Research (STR) component.

Earlier, Dr. Shafiq A. Wani, Director (Research), SKUAS&T-Kashmir welcomed the dignitaries and presented a brief account of research activities being carried out by the university.

Dignitaries also released the publications of JNKVV, Jabalpur and UAS, Dharwad while Rajasthan Agricultural Research Institute, Sri Karan Narendra Agriculture University, Jaipur and Tamil Nadu Agriculture University, Coimbatore were awarded as the best STR centres. To recognize and honour the long association and contribution in field of seed technological research, a number of retiring scientists of NSP (Crops) were felicitated during the meeting.

More than 180 participants from various NSP centres spread across the country participated in this annual group meeting.

(Source: Directorate of Seed Research, Mau)