Annual Convention of Indian Society of Soil Science Held at CAZRI

23rd October 2013, Jodhpur

The 78th Annual convention of Indian Society of Soil Science (ISSS) has been organized at Central Arid Zone Research Institute (CAZRI), Jodhpur from 23rd to 26th October, 2013. The theme of the event was “Agro Ecozone Based Land Use Planning”. Padma Bhusan Prof. Dr. R.B.Singh, President, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences inaugurated four day long convention of ISSS and emphasized in his chief guest remarks about the necessity to have human face of the R&D of soil science, advocated about the land use planning at different levels need to be very much comprehensive, new disciplines like, geo-informatics, socio-economy, soil biodiversity studies, soil biotechnology, nanotechnology applications in soil science need to be inculcated.

Dr. R.K.Rattan, President, ISSS highlighted about the activities of the society in various aspects of development related to soil science in the country and its long term implications for the social development. The Guest of Honor, Prof. S.S.Khanna an eminent soil scientist and Ex-Vice Chancellor, Narendra Dev University of Agriculture and Technology urged that technologies available with ICAR institutes and universities need to be at the doorstep of the clientele and also requested the soil scientist of the country need to consider lithosphere, hydrosphere and atmosphere in the research planning and execution. Dr.M.M. Roy, Director, CAZRI welcomed the delegates and expressed this event as an unique chance for the scientists and researchers to enhance their academic knowledge while attending the symposium and convention.

Annual Convention of Indian Society of Soil Science Held at CAZRIAnnual Convention of Indian Society of Soil Science Held at CAZRI

Various awards like Fellow of the Indian Society of Soil Science has been given to Dr. A.K. Patra, Principal Scientist, Indian Agriculture Research Institute, New Delhi; Dr. S.K. Choudhari, Principal Scientist, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal; Dr. Jagdish Prasad, Principal Scientist, National Bureau of Soil Survey and Land Use Planning, Nagpur and XII International Congress Commemoration Award to Dr. K. Sammi Reddy of Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad and The ISSS-Dr. J.S.P. Yadav Memorial Award for Excellence in Soil Science to Drs. Anil R. Chinchmalatpure, A.K.Nayak, and G. Gururaja Rao & The Golden Jubilee Commemoration Young Scientist Award to Dr. Narendra Kumar Lenka etc. has been handed over by the Chief Guest with citation reading by Dr. D.R.Biswas, Secreatary, ISSS.

About 500 eminent scientist/researcher from different institutes of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), State Agricultural Universities, progressive farmers and NGO(s) from different parts of country have attended this meeting and discussed up-to-date knowledge, recent research results and technological advances in the broad areas of soil science. During this event the 31st Prof. J.N. Mukherjee ISSS Foundation Lecture  has been delivered by Dr. Samar Chandra Datta of Indian Agriculture Research Institute, New Delhi and the 40th R.V. Tamhane Memorial Lecture has been delivered by Dr. J.C.Tarafadar of CAZRI.  In this event a total of 149 oral presentations, 310 poster presentations, outstanding thesis presentations were made.  Exhibitions have been organized, and participants had a great networking opportunity with nationally and internationally prominent scholars, specialists and researchers through diverse social activities.

Dr. J.C.Tarafdar, National Fellow of CAZRI & Organizing Secretary of this national meet proposed the vote of thanks.

(Source: Central Arid Zone Research Institute (CAZRI), Jodhpur)