43rd Annual AICRP Soybean Group Meeting Organized

3rd May 2013, Jorhat

Directorate of Soybean Research (DSR), Indore and Assam Agricultural University (AAU), Jorhat jointly organized the 43rd Annual AICRP Soybean group meeting at AAU, Jorhat from 1-3 May, 2013.

Dr. K.M. Bujarbaruah, Vice Chancellor, AAU inaugurated the meeting. While delivering the inaugural address, Dr. Bujarbaruah appreciated the soybean scientists to make every possible effort in enhancing the acreage of soybean in other states besides Madhaya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, and Karnataka.

The Chief Guest of the meeting, Dr. B.B. Singh, Assistant Director General (Oilseeds and pulses), ICAR emphasized upon enhancement of soybean productivity to make this crop next to maize. Dr. S.K. Srivastava, Director, DSR, Indore reviewed the soybean improvement work carried out during 2012-13. He informed that the Variety Identification Committee identified 8 new varieties of high yielding, disease resistance having other traits like earliness for cultivation in different zones of the country. Technical programme of different discipline for Kharif 2013 was formulated by different groups of AICRP-soybean centre.

In the plenary session, Dr. Swapan Kumar Datta, Deputy Director General (Crop Science), ICAR emphasized upon the need of having traits like low phytate, drought tolerant and high utilizing efficiency in soybean. He also highlighted the role of vegetable type soybean and expressed its wider cultivation and utilization in different parts of the country.

More than 125 scientists from different AICRP-soybean centers across the country and other senior officials from Government departments/private sector organizations participated in the workshop. Dr. G.K. Gupta, Scientist In-charge AICRP-Soybean, DSR proposed vote of thanks.

(Source: DSR, Indore; with inputs from AAU, Jorhat)