ASEAN Farmers’ Delegation visits India

20th December 2012, New Delhi

A farmer’s delegation from ASEAN countries has come to India under the ASEAN-INDIA Farmer Exchange Programme. The programme started with a formal opening ceremony at NASC Complex, New Delhi here today.

On this occasion, Dr. K. D. Kokate, DDG (Agriculture Extension), ICAR briefed about the background of the ASEAN-INDIA programme. Dr. Kokate hoped that sharing of Experiences between ASEAN countries and India would be greatly useful for strengthening National Agricultural Research and Extension System in the respective countries.

Shri Rajesh Ranjan, Director, DARE, Shri Sanjeev Gupta, Joint Secretary (Extension), Department of Agriculture and Cooperation, Government of India and Ms. Neddie M. Jumawan, Agriculture Officer, Philippines and Co-chair of the programme also gave their valuable remarks about the usefulness of the programme.
Earlier, Dr. V. Venkatasubramanian, ADG (Agriculture Extension), ICAR welcomed the delegation and introduced the dignitaries.

This is the first event under ASEAN - India Farmers Exchange programme. In this visit farmers from 9 ASEAN member states viz. Cambodia, Brunei, Indonesia, Myanmar, Malaysia, Vietnam, Philippines, Lao PDR and Thailand are participating from December 19-30, 2012. The delegation comprise of 9 officials and 18 farmers which include 4 women officials and 2 woman farmers. Farmers will visit various ICAR Institutes, State Agriculture Universities, KVKs and farmer’s field.

Dr. A. M. Narula, ZPD, Zone-I, Ludhiana proposed the vote of thanks.


(Source: NAIP Mass Media Project, DKMA, ICAR)